My Cart

Gen Con 10% off Special until July 27th!

(not valid for auctions)

Coupon Code: GENCON2024

Trent Tokens

Ring of the Norns - 2019 (Gold)

Sold Out

This ring allows a spell caster to recast a 0-level spell (0-level only, not any other level of spell) on the very next round. The bonus spell is “cast as a scroll” (meaning it cannot: benefit from a skill test, be duplicated, be cast as a Free Action, nor be modified in any way) and must be cast on the very next round in order to use the effect. This can be used once per room.

Because it requires a 0-level spell to have been cast on the previous round, this item’s power cannot be used during the first round of combat in a given room. A spell cast at the end of the previous room does not qualify.

Example: On round three of combat, Alice (playing the elf wizard) casts the last shocking grasp spell from her character card. She correctly answers the DM’s planar quiz, so the spell does 6 points of damage. Normally that would be her full allotment of shocking grasp, but using the power of her Ring of the Norns, she could re-cast shocking grasp on round four. However, since the re-casting is done “as a scroll”, no planar test is given and the spell does 3 points of damage. If she were to take any other action on round four, she would not be able to re-cast shocking grasp because the spell to be re-cast must be done on the very next round.

Note: The free recasting must be done on the next round. If the caster somehow loses the ability to act on the following round (either by becoming Stunned or some other temporary malady), the spell cannot be recast. However, the wearer of this item could cast another 0-level spell which could then be recast on the following round.

Q: If the “source” spell is modified, will/can the duplicated version have the same modification?
A: No. Since the duplicated spell is “cast as a scroll”, it cannot be modified, even if the “source” spell was. E.g., in round one, Alice uses her Circlet of Elemental Mastery to change shocking grasp to icy grasp. On round two, Alice activates her Ring of the Norns to recast the spell. But since the duplicated spell is “cast as a scroll”, on round two the spell that goes off is shocking grasp.

Text On Token: As a Free Action, may re-cast a 0-level spell just cast–as a scroll

Official True Dungeon Token Database Listing

Join our Newsletter

Join to receive updates & to hear about special promotions. We won't share your info & you can unsubscribe at any time.

My Cart

Subtotal: $0.00

Your cart is currently empty.